Main Street Creamery

Restaurant: Main Street Creamery, Bridgeport, CT

Review: Recently, I visited Main Street Creamery, which is located moments away from my previous post, Merritt Canteen.  The establishment is setup as a traditional “snack stand,” having no functional interior for customers.  There are only brightly colored neon benches which complement its orange and green exterior.

DSC03028

DSC03035

The venue boasted about its extensive menu including twenty-four soft serve flavors.  So naturally I was inclined to try every single one.  As a result, I devoured a double cone.  On the left hand side was Espresso with a cookie crumb dip, and on the right side was buttered pecan with chocolate dip.  The twenty-four flavor magic was sadly a source of one machine with what seemed like “flavor shots” injected into each specific ice cream.  It was most certainly an awesome ice cream experience.  Yet, I don’t think I ordered the best item that their menu has to offer.  The ice cream wasn’t too flavorful and if I did not get the toppings, it would have been a significantly lower quality.

DSC03192However, the combination possibilities that the menu provides brought me back for more.  Second time around, I ordered a Flurry, containing vanilla and chocolate swirl soft serve mixed with cookie dough.  This definitely exceeded my expectations.  The vanilla and chocolate soft serve had a different consistency and was a lot richer in flavor.

Eat Again? Well, considering I have already traveled back to Main Street Creamery, my opinion is pretty evident.  Even though I was not blown away during either trip to this ice cream joint, it is still worth stopping by.  They have options that will satisfy every sweet tooth.  This expands as far as frozen yogurt and funnel cakes.  One big plus that this creamery does provide is the fact that they are open all year long.  As the weather gets colder, people are less likely to desire cold treats, yet Main Street Creamery will be there for those random cravings.

Leave a comment