Donut Crazy

Restaurant: Donut Crazy, Shelton, CT  (also located in Stratford, CT)

Review: Recently, I made a visit to the local joint, Donut Crazy.  Walking into the venue, I assumed I would see one or two unique items that peaked my interest.  Long story short, I walked out with half a dozen donuts closer to a sugar overload.

Now I know six donuts is a bit excessive to eat in one sitting..that doesn’t mean I didn’t try.  Well in reality, I surprised my roommates with some pretty crazy donuts.  Since my indecisive taste buds could not just settle on one donut, my roommates and I had a sampling of each.

The first donut that I devoured was the Mambo Italiano or the Cannoli donut.  In comparison to real cannoli flavor, this donut stepped up to the plate.  The filling, powdered sugar and chocolate chips tied in nicely to mock the flavors of a legitimate cannoli.  However, it had a less impressive dough when considering the other donuts that I tasted. I give it an A+ for nailing the filling, but the filling also made it a little more soggy than what I was looking for.

The next epic flavor is the The Great Pumpkin.  The outside of the donut houses a nice simple and delicately sweet glaze with a fluffy frosting on top.  As for the donut itself, it was a very traditional style which made me feel as though I was just eating a normal piece of pumpkin pie.  The filling hidden within the donut tasted fresh and authentic, unlike a normal pumpkin flavored seasonal treat.  This donut went above and beyond my pumpkin standards by showing clear signs of authentic pumpkin ingredients.

DSC03234

The next donut is the Campfire Donut or the S’mores donut.  This donut tastes just about as good as it looks.  The top is a perfectly toasted marshmallow with a graham cracker sprinkle.  In the center of this amazingness is a chocolate mixture that screams heaven.  The only downside to this donut was that the marshmallow in combination with the chocolate filling, caused the donut to be a little soggy.  However, the flavors were such an accurate representation of s’mores that it didn’t even matter.

DSC03219

Say hello to the Black- Hawk donut.  To describe this dark madness simply, it is a chocolate donut topped with chocolate, dipped in chocolate, covered in chocolate and then drizzled with more chocolate and finally sprinkled with oreos.  This cocoa concoction really filled my chocolate loving heart.  During my tasting, the individual bite that I had was more than enough.  This wasn’t a bad thing though.  Each bite of this donut was so densely packed with chocolate that only the strongest of chocolate lovers could conquer a full Black-Hawk in one sitting.

DSC03229

With only two donuts left, the Nutty Nutella comes in as one of my favorites out of the bunch.  This donut stayed true to the genuine hazelnut flavor of Nutella.  The donut itself was the perfect texture, soft enough that it tasted fresh but not wilted or overstuffed.  Also, I really appreciated how the donut was topped with actual hazelnuts.  It added to the overall flavor nicely and it gave it a more of a unique twist.  In addition, it is important to point out that the filling was not just Nutella straight out of the jar.  Instead, it was a fluffier mixture that made the taste lighter and overall more enjoyable.

DSC03240

Last but not least we have Anna and Raven’s Morning Show.  This jam packed donut is bound to wake you up even on the most tiring of mornings.  This chocolate donut is filled with a prominent expresso flavor along side a rich buttercream and even more chocolate.  I will admit that I am a little biased by claiming this as my number one donut, since I am a sucker for anything coffee flavored.  However, this was a remarkable donut.  Anna and Raven’s Morning Show surpassed all of my expectations and created a delicacy that I could not have pondered up myself.

Eat Again? I would be crazy if I didn’t go back after this donut experience.  Heck you would be crazy if you didn’t get in your car right now and try them for yourself.  Donut Crazy caused me to look at donuts in a different way.  They created an art, a masterpiece and donuts most certainly worth going crazy about.

Leave a comment